‘And there it Was’/ Homburg(er) Cheeseburg(er)

SAARLAND

A weekend to remember and to appreciate.

This past weekend I paid a visit to my friend Julia and her Family in Saarland, but more specifically, Homburg, but more specifically, Kirrberg. For those of you who don’t know, Julia was an exchange student in Vancouver, almost two years ago, and now we got to exchange places and even languages. When she was in the states the only German I knew were swears and hello/goodbye/thank you. Yet now we spoke all but a few words of english, ‘And there it Was,’ and I even learned a little Saarlandisch. It was a great experience, great practice speaking German, and a measure of Kindness. I’d really like to say thank you to Julia, Karin and Volker Beyer, Julia’s bestfriend Valeska, Everyone I met at the Ropes Course and of course Nero for making me feel like I was home, thousands of miles away.

nochmal, ‘And there it was.’ AUS WEG

ZWEIBRUCKEN

(a city close by, and where Julia attends Gymanisum Two Bridges)

dscf1642

dscf1640

+

dscf1643

dscf1639

dscf1644

The town is called 'two bridges' afterall

The town is called 'two bridges' afterall

dscf16481dscf1649

juju und ich

juju und ich

dscf1651

dscf1655

dscf1657

dscf1667 + dscf1674 + dscf1659

dscf1638 + dscf1665 + dscf1686

dscf1662 + dscf1663 + dscf1683

dscf1671

we didn't pay the 4 euro to go in, so a view from outside of the rose garden

we didn't pay the 4 euro admission, so a view from outside of the rose garden

SAARBRUCKEN

(The capital city of Saarland, Saar River Bridge)

dscf1733

Valeska and Julia, this view looked like a miniature of the Portland Waterfront

Valeska and Julia, this looked like a miniature of the Portland Waterfront

dscf1735

dscf1740

dscf1729

dscf1743

we all ate the same thing

we all ate the same thing

dscf1748 + dscf1749 (concentration) dscf1747dscf1745

dscf1751 + dscf1754 + dscf17551

dscf1727 + dscf1728 + dscf1753

dscf1726 + dscf17561 + dscf1752

dscf1758

dscf1759 + dscf1763 + dscf1760

dscf1757

dscf1776

dscf1780

AUTOBAHN BLURR

AUTOBAHN BLURR

HOMBURG

German vs. Ben German

German vs. Ben German

Karlsberg war ueberall

Karlsberg war ueberall, Das Karlsberg Bier-Gefuehl

As in Ernest Hemingway, there were his quotes in German all over the menu

As in Ernest Hemingway, there were his quotes in German all over the menu

German vs. Ben German

German vs. Ben German

The Dude, Weisse Russia, at Gekko

The Dude, Weisse Russia, at Gekko

"Talk to my hand because my face doesn't want to listen"

"Talk to my hand because my face doesn't want to listen"

‘HOMBURG ABENTEUERPARK’

dscf1810

dscf1820

ZIPLINE OVER A LAKE

ZIPLINE OVER A LAKE

dscf1833

notice level 6, that is 6 out of 6. Christian and I were 'man' enough to brave as the ladies went and got ice cream and took pictures.

notice level 6, that is 6 out of 6. Christian and I were 'man' enough to brave as the ladies went and got ice cream and took pictures.

worst spiderman ever

worst spiderman ever

The ropes course was a lot of fun, definitely a place to visit if you are ever in the area. I fell on one of the ‘parts’ of the level six course where you could only use your arms but by some act of God or Saku Koivu I swung and fell to the other side of the ‘section’ or balcony. It was a good laugh, and really lucky. But otherwise great. Especially the Zip lines across the lake.

KIRRBERG

dscf1693

dscf1723

dscf1690

the differing times of Kirrberg

the differing times of Kirrberg

dscf1799

dscf1802

dscf1801dscf1804

dscf1805

not Julia's House

NERO

NERO

Florian's Pets

Florian's Pets

dscf1854 + dscf1851 + dscf1850

dscf18461

ich war total verwöhnt - I was completely spoiled

ich war total verwöhnt - I was completely spoiled

oh Nero

oh Nero

Volker, Julia and Karin Beyer (Florian, Julia's older brother, not pictured)

Volker, Julia and Karin Beyer (Florian, Julia's older brother, not pictured)

Nochmals, Herzliches Dankeschoen Beyer Familie.

I enjoyed my time in Homburg so much, I hope to and plan to visit again.

Side notes: I spoke with an elderly woman on the train between Mannheim and Stuttgart for about a half an hour (the length of the ride) and not only did she say my German was very good, but she thought I was Dutch at first. I don’t know that that is a compliment, but it is at least closer to Germany.

As well, as soon as you can, go and see the Boat that Rocked, oder auf Deutsch Radio Rock Revolution. I would recomend seeing in English, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Oh, and new Phoenix EP came out. Oh, and I will try and send out some postcards soon.

TYGAOSK and Beyer Family

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “‘And there it Was’/ Homburg(er) Cheeseburg(er)

  1. Looks like fun, that was nice of them to take you all those places!

    Haha Dutch.

  2. Great pics. I’m glad you don’t have an issue with heights. Keep soaking up the culture.

  3. juju

    heyhey!! It was great to have you over at our house. I enjoyed the weekend just as much as you did. but this picture up there of the broken house…. everyone will thinks its ours. BUT ITS NOT!!!! =)
    hab dich ganz doll lieb!! küsschen!!!

  4. Hey Ben, it’s Christian!

    Great pics, haha. The one of us climbing on the parcour no. 6 looks quite heroic, dont’cha think? 😀
    That weird clock with the two different clock-faces just made my day… This place is really fucked up and I guess whole America knows that now… probably thinking we are some kind of retarded natives or smth. :p

    • thankyousaku

      Good to hear from you!

      Das ist nicht so nett von dir, niemand dachte das. haha. I told Julia I’d send her some more of the pictures soon, so hopefully she can pass them out. Heroic might be an understatement.. I still think the part of no. 6 with swinging feet and hand grapples was the hardest.

Leave a Reply

